First Steps in Minimalism: 1

In Feb this year I basically moved back into my flat. It was my friends increasing rage as we spent two days reverse tetrising a 25 sq ft storage unit back into my flat that really was the hint that I had too much stuff. And the half a garage at my mothers, the bed at my fathers and the two plants at a friends.

I realised I needed to do something about it. Why had I kept, then boxed up, then moved (twice) 30+ back copies of Vanity Fair? Why did I have two copies of Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason on DVD? And what actually was in my mothers garage?

Queue a montage of charity giveaways, recycling, rubbish clearance and eBay sales. Some progress was made. But now its time to get serious. That’s right – its time to refer to a Guardian Lifestyle article.

Step 1: Decide why you’re becoming a minimalist

  • My flat is teeny tiny
  • I am on very tight budget so I need to curb my worst buying excesses
  • I think I might occasionally form attachments to objects rather than people. I am working on that.

3 thoughts on “First Steps in Minimalism: 1

  1. Great Post! I finally realized the same thing near two years ago. Moving, again! Why am I continuing to bring all these things with me, boxes of dvds, cds, magazine, so many clothes, etc. I could have easily had 20 junk drawers too. Continue the good work on being minimalist and remember, it’s all about the experience in living, not our possessions.

    Like

    1. Ah thanks 🙂 Its going to be tough, but getting it there and talking about it is starting to make me think about my attachment to objects.

      Lets see how it goes…

      Like

Leave a Reply

