Hong Kong, China and Macau (Part 1)

Now here’s a thing – I can actually remember the moment I decided I was going to travel for the first time. I don’t remember all the details, but it was in High School Geography. We had a text book that had a picture of Hong Kong from a hillside. I looked at it and thought “I’m going there”. I turned the page and there was a picture of LA, with the mountains behind. I thought “I’m going there as well”. 4 years later at 19, after much much saving I went on my first solo round the world trip. I ticked LA off on that trip (although I am determined to go back now I can go in a bar and drive), but its taken me much longer to get to Hong Kong.

So when the opportunity came up to travel to HK, China and Macau, I basically had to take it. OK it was with two male colleagues from work, which meant some delicate negotiations with the boyfriend (drinks, meal, sex, “oh by the way”) – luckily he is very understanding. And I showed him a picture of the boys which helped, bless them.

And so it was, that I found myself HK bound via Dubai. Travelling separately from the boys meant that I arrived 5 hours after them. Which was 5 hours they had spent industriously drinking in Lan Kwai Fong, picking up a China-based ex-pat one of them knew from back home. By 4am I had made strong progress in playing catch up, and we were all sat out eating pizza and drinking on a street that mainly housed strip joints and brothels. It was going to be a long 11 days.

Leave a Reply

